NOTES ABOUT QUOTES

Photo on 4-17-16 at 1.40 PM

I’ve always loved words. Especially those that inspire and encourage. Maybe that’s why I’m so drawn to quotes. I use them everyday on my Facebook page to encourage my FB friends. I’ve done this for years and although well-received by most, there are times the quote is totally misunderstood by some, especially those from other countries who are not familiar with our culture. Believe me, those who misunderstand the intent of the quote are quick to let me know exactly what they think. This sparks those who totally got the meaning and they are quick to let those who misunderstood know it. Thus, the whole purpose of the quote is forgotten in the fray. At the beginning of this year I noted on my page my purpose and goal for the daily quotes and also warned if anyone’s comments cause a misunderstanding of the intent of the quote I reserved the right to delete the comments. I’ve only had to do this a couple of times, thank goodness.

So, Linda? Why are you telling us this?

Well, I’ll tell you. I’ve written blogs for YEARS, and frankly, my ‘blogging well’ is dry. While driving today I worried over my dilemma, knowing I didn’t want to give up blogging, but I hate putting words in cyberspace that meant very little to most. That’s when it hit me! I love quotes. Quotes are often misunderstood. Why not share a quote and what it means to me? This ideas gave me new energy!  So each week I will post a quote and write a little about it. AND I will open it up to discussion. If you agree or disagree, there will be no deleting. (Unless the rudeness level is off the charts, of course)

Quotes are like powerhouse vitamins, small, yet nourishing. They are composed of a few words, yet they speak volumes. Therefore, with this new inspiration, I will change the direction of my blogging to using quotes that give health to our present and our future!

For now, I will close with a quote by Mark Twain. It perfectly summarizes why I love quotes and my reason for using them. I look forward to this new blogging venture!

A drop of ink may make a million think. ~ Mark Twain

Next blog’s quote is from the amazing Maya Angelou!

2 thoughts on “NOTES ABOUT QUOTES

Leave a Reply

