Focus and Reframe

DSCN0331

Very often a change of self is needed more than a change of scene.

~ Arthur Christopher Benson

A few weeks ago someone asked me what was the best thing that happened to me that day. I had to think and frankly, I couldn’t come up with one thing. How sad! My focus had been drilled on cares, worries, and how bad things were that I’d let all the good things go unnoticed. And there were good things. Oscar Wilde got it right when he wrote, If you don’t get everything you want, think of the things you don’t get that you don’t want. What he is saying is, “Change your focus.” 

A ski instructor taught me to focus on where I want to go. If I’m zipping down a mountain and there are trees on either side of the trail, to focus on the middle, not on the trees, because if I did, I’d plow into them. That is a lot like life. If I focus on all that is wrong with life, I’ll plow right into dark thoughts and miss all that is good. Even worse, I’ll spread that darkness everywhere I go. 

Therefore, each day I make a mental note of at least one good thing that has happened. I have to say, focusing on the good reframes the bad and gives me perspective. After all, I may hate the things going on around me, but what good is it to complain and get depressed. With a better frame of mind, I might just think of a way to make things better. 

3 thoughts on “Focus and Reframe

  1. Your post points out the best way to life a full happy life with loving family and friends constantly supporting and being supported. Thanks, Linda, for pointing this out. Out with negative thoughts. Period.

Leave a Reply

