LEARNING AT NATURES KNEE ~ Small Beginnings

 

11699633_640

“Mighty things from small beginnings grow.” ~ John Dryden

This week my daughter, Olivia, and I started our heirloom tomatoes seeds and some have already pushed their thread-like stems through the potting soil. Each year when I see these little shoots I’m amazed at how such small beginnings result in plants taller than me, bearing tomatoes larger than my fist. When I first started learning how to start my own tomatoes, my friend, Connie, taught me a cool trick for strengthening the seedlings hair-sized stems, you pet them. Yep. You read it right. She showed me how to gently run my hand over the miniscule leaves to simulate the breeze blowing. I have to admit, it is kind of fun. In a few weeks of petting and watering my little plants, my little plants will face another hurdle, transplanting. This process will give them a little shock at first, but soon they will stretch their roots in the soil and and reach toward the sky, fulfilling their purpose.

As I write this I’m reminded of how much I can learn from nature. Just as the quote says, I should never despise small beginnings. Another lesson is when life blows over me, bending me to the ground, I have the choice of standing up and using that experience to make me stronger. Finally, if I’m uprooted and transplanted, whether it be my goals, dreams, or plans, I should keep an optimistic attitude, reach deep, look up, and grow into my purpose.

The lesson of my tomatoes? Never give up because of small beginnings, winds of adversity or change.

 

2 thoughts on “LEARNING AT NATURES KNEE ~ Small Beginnings

Leave a Reply

