WHAT I HAVE LEARNED FROM WEEDS

Image

WHAT I HAVE LEARNED FROM WEEDS

I have a love/hate relationship with weeds. I hate them in my garden. They are obnoxious and stubborn. While pulling them is necessary, it also seems futile.  Kinda like the Walmart employee whose job is pushing carts back into the store. I feel sorry for the guy because for every cart he returns to the store twenty are rolled out. That is how I feel after wrestling them out of the ground, putting down fresh mulch, I enjoy the weed-free garden for about, ummmm, two days?

On the other hand, I’ve learned a lot from these aggravating plants and that is what I love about them. Below are a few things I’ve gleaned from weeds:

Weeds will grow anywhere. No matter how rich or poor the soil is they adapt and thrive.

  •  Adapting and thriving. Good advice from nature. Neal is a good example. When we were first married his job was changed from virus research (his specialty) to avian serology. (Chicken blood) At first he fumed and resisted this change, but then he decided to own this change. Today is one of the vice-presidents at Tyson Foods. And it was avian serology that paid for his doctorate.

Weeds will thrive in a drought. They send their roots deeper and deeper. That is why it is so hard to get the blasted things out. And besides them having a deep roots, they also cling to rocks in the soil. Conversely the plants that I lovingly put in the ground, feed and faithfully water, constantly wilt, attract white flies, gnawing bugs, and get funguses. Such divas!

  •  Attitude adjustment. Instead of complaining when there is more month than money, when my incredibly fantastic manuscript is rejected, when I’m forgotten or ignored, when there is stress in my family, (you get the idea) instead of letting these things make me bitter, I learn from them, emotionally overcome them, and concentrate on the big picture. Hopefully I will send my roots deeper and become a better person.

Weeds scatter seeds. Unlike my diva plants, weeds are very industrious and prolific. They do not depend on others to get the job done. My diva plants produce fruit, but expect me to gather their seeds and plant them.

  •  Productive. I waste time waiting for perfect conditions or for someone else.

 Weeds can become divas. I noticed that the weeds that grow close to my diva plants have shallow roots. They get all the food and water handed to them on a silver platter so to speak. So when I weed they come right out.

 What about you? Have you learned anything from weeds or weeding your garden? Please share it with us!

13 thoughts on “ WHAT I HAVE LEARNED FROM WEEDS

  1. There’s a saying that a weed is just a flower growing in the wrong place. (similar to another – a stranger is a friend you haven’t met yet). I find living by that philosophy helps me. BTW, I transplant wildflowers and weeds, and have a couple beautiful gardens that I received courtesy of Mother Nature.
    I really enjoyed your ‘gleaning’. Will keep them as reference for those trying times.

      1. Admittedly, a lot of it is hit and miss, with a couple of re-tries But would love to discuss with you. I’m kind of new to this, so not sure how to make a connection. Friend me? I’ll try to ‘friend’ you, too. Gayle Glass

      2. Yes, I’m on Facebook…Jean Rosenow. Friend me and I’d love to learn more about wild flower gardening. I retired in December and am looking forward to creating some low maintenance, wildlife friendly areas in the yard. Glad to meet you, Gayle!

  2. After going over a few of the blog posts on your website,
    I honestly like your technique of blogging. I
    added it to my bookmark site list and will be
    checking back in the near future. Please check out my web site as well and let
    me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

