Reframing Our Focus

 

 Image

“Our life always expresses the result of our dominant thoughts”~ Soren Kierkegaard

 

There is nothing like early mornings in the garden for quiet contemplation. I never know what I am going to hear from God while basking in the cool shades of green and dodging honeybees I disturb while seeking fat butterbeans.

This morning was no exception.

While peering through the vines, I noticed the leaves at the bottom were yellow. Upon further inspection I found a few bugs. I made a mental note to take care of those hungry critters. With my mind on the vine’s problems, I couldn’t see the beans. I scanned the leaves and saw nothing but lush vegetation. And then, my focus cleared and just a breath away from my nose hung a cluster of fat pods.

So it is with my life sometimes. I focus on the problems so much that I miss the fruit. Yes, we need to deal with problems, but we shouldn’t let it hijack our vision. How often are we so distracted that we miss what we seek and it is right there in front of our nose?

This week, take a deep breath. Get a plan for the problem, then step back from it and see the fruit.

 

Leave a Reply

