ONE STEP AT A TIME

“Procrastination is, hands down, our favorite form of self-sabotage”

~ Alyce P. Cornyn-Selby

I heard Rory Vaden, author of the book Take the Stairs, interviewed the other day. At first I thought he was an exercise guru, but he is actually a motivational speaker and self-discipline strategist for businesses. His premise is to do the right thing even if it is hard.

Although he is focused on helping businesses succeed, what he talks about it true about life. I thought about my life. Where am I taking the elevator when I should really be trudging up the stairs? Well, one thing is exercise. And I literally have to walk up stairs to my exercise equipment. I hate to exercise. It is boring and time-consuming. But it is also necessary.

Other difficult things may be standing firm with a teenager. Having that talk with someone. Making that apology. Applying for a new job. Being a better employee. Stop procrastinating and do what has to be done. Stop spending and save money. The possibilities are endless.

Are you on the elevator, taking the easy way out? Do you need to take the stairs, do the hard thing because it is the right thing to do?

I encourage you to do so. Take one step at a time. Guess I better head up my stairs and start the Jane Fonda DVD!

One thought on “ONE STEP AT A TIME

Leave a Reply

