The Kindness of God

Have you ever had one of those moments? One of those object lessons from God? I did. It happened like this.

While en-route to meet friends at my son’s new coffee shop, The Pressroom, in Bentonville, AR, I passed a house where a huge Doberman Pincher lives. Normally he has on one of those collars that keep him in his yard. But today he frolicked in the middle of the road. When he saw me approach he planted his paws and prepared to “stand me down.” By his lifted lip and his stance I knew he growled a warning.

Of course I slowed down. This only served to make him bolder. He charged my car, alternately snapping at the tires and returning to the front barking, warning, and demonstrating his dominance of the road.

Silly dog.

He had no idea that his display of power wasn’t what made me apply my brakes. Rather it was my kindness and patience with his ignorance. He had no way of comprehending that I was the one with the power. I could have continued on my way without slowing down and knocked him off the road resulting in his death, or at the very least, severe injuries.

And that is when it happened. A light went off in my soul. For all the times I take a stance, bark my opinion, feel all powerful, it is the kindness and patience of God that waits until I’m all barked out and ready to listen, ready to be teachable, ready to repent from my error.

Silly Linda

21 thoughts on “The Kindness of God

  1. We are reminded again how much God loves us when he gives us these tidbits of insight. Don’t you feel good all over when you know you’ve been touched? Thanks for sharing.

  2. I love serendipitous moments like these. I heard someone call them “God Winks” once, and you’re one of the best at seeing them and showing us how to keep our eyes open for them. Thanks, Linda. ❤

  3. I love this. A good lesson. I do think though, that God gave us the bark as well as the ears and the listening heart. I believe we sometimes grow as human beings as much in the barking and the fussing as we do in the listening and accepting of God’s will. I suppose the point is to not spend your entire life barking while never learning to listen.
    Hmmmm. Once again, you’ve given me something to think about.

    1. Yes he did give us the “bark” but not to instruct Him how and when to do things or to remind Him of how unfair things are! Which is what my bark is usually about. Sad to say, embarrassing to admit. 😦

  4. Linda, I Love to read your writings!!! I especially enjoyed this one, and plan to read it tomorrow night during my sharing time with our ladies group, GAL PALS, at our church. Thank You for sharing your gift that God has given you to be such a blessing and inspiration to me, and so many others. Love & Blessings to YOU!!!

Leave a Reply

